Researcher-Facing Track

Do you help researchers using IT tools to further their research goals?
Are you involved in research computing and/or data science training?
Do you consult with researchers on more effectively doing their research with advanced computing resources?
Compute with data?

The Researcher-Facing Track of the People Network brings together people from research computing groups, libraries, research institutes, and other organizations who support researchers in every phase of the research lifecycle. Many of us are also Data- & Systems-Facing, but this track is a community-led opportunity to discuss the practices, perspectives, and experiences of facilitation from any perspective.

Topics include:

  • Research computing facilitation
  • Outreach to all disciplines, esp. those under-represented, to aid with research computing resources
  • Education and Training
  • The art and practice of facilitation
  • Increasing communications, collaborations, and team-building
  • Research computing technologies
  • And more, as determined by our members!

We connect via monthly calls and an email list. We also invite you to review and contribute to the Leading Practices of Facilitation!

Join Us!

Join Us! Fill out our membership form to let us know who you are and what you’re interested in. We’ll add you to the email list.

Monthly Calls

Monthly calls are on the second Thursday of the month, 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT/ 8a HT. Connection information and links to any materials are distributed via email.

Upcoming Call(s)

Researcher-Facing Track, Wednesday August 18, 2021 12pm ET/ 11am CT/ 10am MT/ 9am PT/ 7am HT, 1.5 hour duration
NOTE different day and time due to joint call with other tracks

Aligning Security With Research

This August the CaRCC People Network Tracks will join forces for a focused conversation on information security as it relates to research data management. This plenary discussion will bring together experts in security to address the critical needs of research cyberinfrastructure. We must find better approaches to partnering, supporting, and delivering cybersecurity to the research community at our institutions. It is crucial that we align our resources and policies to the research mission. Our panelists will address security controls and standards, best practices and lessons learned, which will be followed by questions from our attendees. Please join us for this important discussion

Presenters:

Katrina Biscay – University Of Cincinnati, Asst Vice President Information Security , CISO
Tom Siu – Michigan State University, CISO
Von Welch – associate vice president for Information Security and executive director for Cybersecurity Innovation at Indiana University, executive director for the OmniSOC, and the director of IU’s Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research (CACR).

Previous Call Topics

7/8/21 Building Teams with Graduate Student Research Facilitators video
doc
6/10/21 No call. Virtual Residency week
5/13/21 Workflow Tools for Portable, Reproducible Data Analysis video – recording starts mid-call due to problems at the start
doc
slides
4/8/21 On Measuring the Impact of Training video
doc
slides
3/11/21 All About Orienting Researchers to Research Computing + Data Resources video
doc
2/11/21 Supporting Researchers with Containers video
doc
1/14/21 All About CaRCC (… beyond the R-F Track) video
doc
slides
11/12/20 CaRCC End-Of-Year Party doc
11/12/20 Profiling and Optimizing R Code in Your Workloads video
doc
slides
10/08/20 Writing More Equitable Job Postings video
doc
slides
09/10/20 Supporting research projects on the cloud video unavailable
doc
slides
07/09/20 Big Data, Big Compute Solutions, a Community Discussion video
doc
slides
05/14/20 Remote Support (cont’d): Working with Your Team Remotely video
doc
04/09/20 Sharing Good Practices in Remote User Support & Training video
doc
03/12/20 User Support via Ask.CI and Locales video
doc
02/13/20 Doing it in public: User support via Slack, open forums, Github repos and blogs video
doc
01/09/20 Handling Support Requests – A Community Discussion video
doc
12/12/19 University of Missouri reports and Researcher Facing/CI-Engineer Metrics video
doc
11/14/19 Open OnDemand User Experiences & Challenges video
doc
10/10/19 An Expansion of User Support Services for the Research Computing Group at the University of Colorado Boulder video slides doc
09/12/19 A Startup Framework for Building Digital Research Capacity and Community at UCLA slides
doc
08/08/19 PEARC19 recap!
07/11/19 Creating effective training materials
06/13/19 Lightning talks / Open mic sessions on track topics

Track Coordinators

Justin Booth, Dir. Research IT, Michigan State University
Bob Freeman, Dir. Research Technology Operations, Harvard Business School
rf-coordinators@carcc.org to contact both Justin and Bob

Steering Committee Members (alphabetically)
Gladys Karina Andino Bautista
Katia Bulekova
Dirk Colbry
Martin Cuma
Christina Koch
Amy Neeser, UC Berkeley
Janna Ore Nugent
Wirawan Purwanto
Annelie Rugg

We also wish to thank persons who have previously lead and contributed to the Researcher-Facing track:

  • Claire Mizumoto (U. California, San Diego), Track Coordinator
  • Erin Shaw (USC), Steering Committee
  • Dana Brunson, Track Coordinator
  • Lauren Michael, Track Coordinator