Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Jul 2021

July 8 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Jul 8, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Building Teams with Graduate Student Research Facilitators

Thur, July 8, 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT/ 8a HT

There are many approaches to building teams to work directly with researchers in order to facilitate their data and computing needs. One approach is to hire graduate student consultants who are situated as researchers themselves in specific domains. Please join us for a presentation from Northwestern University and the University of California Berkeley, two universities who take this approach. First we will hear from an organizational perspective and then directly from grad students who are on these teams about the types of projects students work on, defining the work and setting expectations with faculty, recruitment and hiring, and securing funding.  

Presenters: 

  • Heather Amato, University of California Berkeley
  • Amy Neeser, University of California Berkeley 
  • Dan Turner, Northwestern University
  • Colby Witherup Wood, Northwestern University

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the R-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Remember, this Track and Community is all about you… and is yours!!

Details

Date:
July 8
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT