Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Sep 2021

September 9 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Sep 9, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title: Bridging the Gap: Reaching Underrepresented Research Domains for Large-Scale Computing
Presenter(s):
Jacalyn Huband, Computational Research Support Specialist, University of Virginia
Francis Steen, Associate Professor, Communication Studies, UCLA

Description:
What research groups, disciplines, or communities are underrepresented in the world of research computing? If these groups have work that would benefit from advanced research computing resources, how do we identify them, what do they need to get there, and how does that differ from other disciplines? Some underrepresented groups include Business, Economics, and the Social Sciences more broadly. Join us for a call from researchers and facilitators in these fields to talk about their experience in navigating the resources and culture of research computing.

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the R-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Remember, this Track and Community is all about you… and is yours!!

Details

Date:
September 9
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT