Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Nov 2020

November 12 @ 1:00 pm EST

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Nov 12, 2020 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title: Profiling and Optimizing R Code in Your Workloads
Presenter(s):
Jacalyn Huband (University of Virginia)
Rebecca Belshe (Arizona State University)
Gil Speyer (Arizona State University)
Katia Bulekova (Boston University)

Description: A majority of researchers and data science professionals are working with a few languages, with R among them. Known for its broad use in statistics, beautiful plotting capabilities, and rich code contributions to CRAN, most know it is not the most performant language, esp. if one is not writing idiomatic R code or writing in traditional language constructs. Add to this mix self-taught programmer-researchers and increasingly larger data sets… you have arrived at your need to improve the execution time of one’s code. We’ll spend this session discussing how one finds oneself in this predicament and what are some of the solutions, including profiling to understand bottlenecks and optimizing code, to name a few.

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the R-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Remember, this Track and Community is all about you… and is yours!!

Details

Date:
November 12
Time:
1:00 pm EST