Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Sept 2020

September 10 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Sept 10, 2020 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title: Supporting research projects on the cloud
Presenter(s):  Cyd Burrows-Schilling, Alan Moxley, and Harry Zhou from UC San Diego

Description:
University of CA San Diego has developed a consolidated billing approach to commercial cloud accounts, under a single Master Payer Account for Amazon Web Services (AWS), along with spend discounts and saving opportunities. Beyond account logistics and savings, their Research IT team has taken a lead role in shifting facilitation to the cloud. We’ll discuss handling the research-owned accounts, assisting PIs with best practices, and some time-saving approaches in administration. We’ll also explore the added benefit of technical expertise in available cloud services; how those services are either similar or different from on-prem solutions; and how a good understanding of faculty research/researchers is at the foundation of how UC San Diego supports their researchers in the commercial cloud world. Join us for a great discussion as we look to expand the scope of research computing and facilitation.

 

 

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the R-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Remember, this Track and Community is all about you… and is yours!!

Details

Date:
September 10
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT