Systems-Facing Track

The Systems-Facing track of the People Network will focus on aspects relevant to the execution of research computing and data systems.

Topics include:

  • Architecture (hardware solutions, cloud integration, VMs, container integration, …)
  • Storage systems (file systems, SAN, NAS, NVMe, Burstbuffer, …)
  • Networking (data transfer solutions, Infiniband, campus-wide, …)
  • Cluster management and configuration (scheduling, accounting and reporting, …)
  • Accelerators (GPU, FPGA, …)
  • Security (auditing, compliance, policies, procedures, …)
  • User environment (Modules, CUDA, …)

We connect via monthly calls, on slack and an email list.

Join Us!

Join Us! Fill out our membership form to let us know who you are and what you’re interested in. We’ll add you to the email list. Visit the People Network page to join other tracks.

Monthly Calls

Monthly calls are on the third Tuesday of the month, 1pm ET.  Connection information and links to any materials are distributed via email.

Upcoming Calls

Topic: Multi-Track Call: Service Models for Researcher-Purchased Computing and Data

August 20, 2020, 1p ET/12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT (*90 minute call length)

Previous Call Topics

CaRCC Systems-Facing YouTube playlist of past calls

Google Drive folder (includes notes and audio-only recordings)

Track Coordinators

Systems-Facing Coordinators email contact link

Brian Haymore, Sr IT Architect – HPC, Center for High Performance Computing, University of Utah

Troy Baer, Senior HPC Systems Engineer, Ohio Supercomputer Center