Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Apr 2021

April 8 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Apr 8, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title: On Measuring the Impact of Training 
Presenter(s):
Kari Jordan, Carpentries
Julie Wilson Rojewski and Astri Briliyanti, CyberAmbassadors

Description:

On previous Researcher-Facing calls, we’ve had the opportunity to discuss topics relating to measuring impact and improving training. And as discussed in the Leading Practices of Facilitation, “training & education” is one of the major pillars of our efforts. Many of us provide training opportunities and struggle to define and measure “impact” or “success” — is it short terms gains (quality scores for the class & instructors, reduced support burden, and acclimating users), long term considerations (effectiveness of training programs, building relationships, promoting awareness and participation), and does it depend on the kind of training (professional skills, technical topics)? Or are we confounding these, complicating both the objectives and outcomes?

April’s call will showcase two “case studies” of measuring training impact, where each presenter will talk about their programs, define “impact”, and explain their approach to measuring this. Please also join us by contributing to our pre-talk survey: What challenges do you currently face in measuring training impact? And what successful strategies have you tried?

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the R-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Remember, this Track and Community is all about you… and is yours!!

Details

Date:
April 8
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT