Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Researcher-Facing Track Call, May 2021

May 13 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday May 13, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title: Workflow Tools for Portable, Reproducible Data Analysis
Presenter(s):
Dennis Kennetz – St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Department of Computational Biology
Will Rosenow – University of Virginia, Computational Scientist Research Computing
Matthew Garcia – University of Wisconsin-Madison, Postdoctoral Research Associate

Description:
Workflow managers are tools that can be used to orchestrate steps in data preparation, analyses, and visualization that can be deployed on local computers, HPC/HTC clusters, and cloud environments. These steps can be formalized as pipelines, made reproducible, and used to scale. As the landscape continues to mature, join us for a discussion on the current state of these systems and how these will help your research. After an introduction to workflow standards and tools, including reasons for using them, our speakers will present several use cases in research highlighting workflow tools such as SnakeMake and NextFlow.

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the R-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Remember, this Track and Community is all about you… and is yours!!

Details

Date:
May 13
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT