Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Researcher-Facing Track Call, July 2020

July 9 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Jul 9, 2020 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title: Big Data, Big Compute Solutions, a Community Discussion
Presenter(s):
Brett Milash, Scientific Consultant, Center for High Performance Computing, University of Utah – Bioinformatics focus
Janna Ore Nugent, Senior Bioinformatics Specialist, Research Computing Services, Northwestern University – Genomics focus
Mahmood Mohammadi Shad, Associate Director of Research Software Engineering, FAS Research Computing, Harvard University – spark, elasticsearch, or RSE and work to facilitate large data/compute problems
Chris Myers, Senior Research Associate, Center for Advanced Computing, Cornell University – Python focus
Katia Bulekova, Manager of Scientific Programming and Applications, Information Services & Technology, Boston University – R focus

Description: Whether working at home or in the office, working with large datasets or compute problems presents many challenges. Storage, coding practices, workflows, and compute resources, to name a few, all play a large part in how we handle “big” problems. In part 1 of this 2-part series, we’d like to focus on traditional compute setups —  desktops and HPC systems. We’d like to hear from you on how you are approaching or have approached them: What are your coding practices, approaches for optimization, and how do you scale? What workflows and design patterns that you’ve attempted? Please also share your success stories and lessons learned on failures. In part 2 (a future call), we’ll shift our focus to the transition to big data computing in the cloud, and how the adopted approaches and paradigms have or need to change.

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the R-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Remember, this Track and Community is all about you… and is yours!!

Details

Date:
July 9
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT