Upcoming People Network Calls

Greetings to the CaRCC People Network and extended community! Below is the list of monthly track calls and topics (also visible in the CaRCC Events Calendar):

Researcher-Facing Track (second Thursdays)

Thurs, 2/13, 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT

Doing it in public: User support via Slack, open forums, Github repos and blogs, a panel and community discussion

Description: To address the increasing number of support requests in research computing, we need to leverage strategies to amplify our support efforts. One such strategy is to provide support in public environments like Slack, open forums, Github repos and blogs which allows consultants to answer questions once and encourage researchers to support each other. Please join us as we explore the benefits and pitfalls of this approach.

Emerging-Centers Track (third Wednesdays)

Wednesday, February 19, 2020 12pm ET/ 11am CT/ 10am MT/ 9am PT/ 7am HT

Research Computing Strategic and Cyberinfrastructure Plans – Examples, Lessons Learned, Discussion, discussion facilitated by Scotty Strachan (UNR), Jason Simms (Lafayette College)

Description:  Creating and communicating a near- and long-term strategic vision/plan is key to the development and on-going success of a research computing center.  In this call, we will share Lessons Learned and examples of CI Plans, and 3-5 year Strategic Plans, including:

  • why develop a plan?
  • what should be included?
  • how did you develop a plan? who was involved?
  • what should not be included?

Systems-Facing Track (third Thursdays)

Thursday, February 20th, 2020 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT

UC San Diego Health’s approach to meeting HIPAA compliance in AWS, discussion facilitated by Andrew Greaves, Call Document

Description: We’ll be discussing UC San Diego Health’s  journey in AWS in support of research. We’ll give an overview of:

  • Compliance frameworks we targeted and why they were chosen,
  • Network design (pre AWS transit gateway)
  • Tooling in place (both native AWS and third party) to accommodate compliance, security visibility/monitoring/incident response,
  • Give some example of workloads and architectures to support research
  • Future enhancements

Data-Facing Track (first Tuesdays)

Tuesday, March 3, 2020 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT

Community Organizations, discussion facilitated by Tobin Magle (RDAP), Steve Van Tuyl (ADSA), John MacMullen (Midwest Big Data Hub)

The Research Data Access and Preservation Association (RDAP), Academic Data Science Alliance (ADSA), and Big Data Innovation Hubs are organizations active in the research data space.  On this call, representatives from each organization will share what the organization does and what opportunities exist for data-facing track members to get involved.  

All calls will take place within the below Zoom room:

Zoom Meeting Room: https://zoom.us/j/3816547290

One tap mobile: +16699006833,,3816547290# US (San Jose); +16465588656,,3816547290# US (New York)

Dial by your location: +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose); +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

Meeting ID: 381 654 7290

Participants need not subscribe to a particular track to participate in calls. Additional details for track members, including notes documents and any pre-call activities, will be distributed ahead of the call via the email lists and other communication channels within each track.

The CaRCC (Campus Research Computing Consortium) People Network, aims “to foster, build and grow an inclusive community (termed the “People Network”) for campus CI, research computing and data professionals.” If you have received this email NOT via CaRCC’s People Network, and you would like to join the People Network, please fill in the form at http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network.