People Network Calls in January 2020

Greetings to the CaRCC People Network and extended community!

Below is the list of monthly track calls and topics (also visible in the CaRCC Events Calendar):

Data-Facing Track (first Tuesdays, 1pm ET)

Roundtable / Open Discussion

Tuesday, January 7th 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT

Help identify and prioritize topics for future calls! This month’s call will be an open forum to discuss the direction of the track and brainstorming call topic ideas. What would you like to see more (or less) of? Who can we partner with or add to the conversation?

Researcher-Facing Track (second Thursdays, 1pm ET)

Community discussion: Handling support requests

Thursday, January 9, 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT

The number of help requests (tickets) from the Research Community has been increasing over the past years? At the same time, the questions have become increasingly complicated. This open discussion will be an opportunity to share experiences across institutions on strategies to handle requests. More action details to come…

Emerging Centers Track (third Wednesdays, 12pm ET)

Tools and Methods for Collecting Research Use Cases, presentation facilitated by Mohammad Qayoom (Louisiana State University Med Ctr) 

January 15, 2020  12p ET / 11am CT / 10am MT / 9am PT

Systems-Facing Track (third Thursdays, 1pm ET)

HIPAA-aligned data and Public Cloud Platforms: An ongoing journey through technical, cost, compliance, and information assurance challenges, presentation facilitated by James Kenyon ( Michigan Medicine / University of Michigan ) 

Thursday, January 16th, 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10a PT

Michigan Medicine, and the University of Michigan, at large, are in the early stages of enabling public cloud access for researchers with HIPAA-aligned data.  This journey brings technical, cost, compliance, and information assurance challenges. This discussion / presentation will briefly explore the University of Michigan’s and Michigan Medicine’s journey, to date, with HIPAA-aligned research on public cloud platforms – where we have stumbled, where we have had success, and points in between. Hopefully, it will be useful for you as you begin, or continue, your own journey.

All calls will take place within the below Zoom room:

Zoom Meeting Room: https://zoom.us/j/3816547290

One tap mobile: +16699006833,,3816547290# US (San Jose); +16465588656,,3816547290# US (New York)

Dial by your location: +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose); +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

Meeting ID: 381 654 7290

There is no need to subscribe to a particular track to participate in calls. Additional details for track members, including notes documents and any pre-call activities, will be distributed via the email list and other communication channels of each track.

If you have received this email NOT via CaRCC’s People Network, and you would like to join the People Network, including any of the above tracks, please fill in the form at http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *