Monthly Line-Up of People Network Calls

Greetings to all members of the CaRCC People Network!

So that all members of the People Network are aware of calls hosted by our tracks, we are sending out an announcement of all calls scheduled for the month. (Also visible in the CaRCC Events Calendar.)

Data-Facing Track (first Tuesdays, 1pm ET)

Library and IT Collaboration on Data Services, discussion facilitated by Amy Neeser (UC Berkeley) and Tobin Magle (UW Madison)

Tuesday, October 1st, 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT

The session will include a series of lightning round style case studies from a variety of institutions whose libraries and IT departments are collaborating.  This will be followed by a discussion about these approaches and collaboration more broadly. 

Researcher-Facing Track (second Thursdays, 1pm ET)

An Expansion of User Support Services for the Research Computing Group at the University of Colorado Boulder – Shelley Knuth, University of Colorado Boulder

Thursday, October 10th, 1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT

Overview:  In any research computing (RC) environment, the role of the user support group is a combination of education, consulting, and outreach.  As this role is the most public-facing of a research computing group’s team, it is important to ensure an excellent level of support is provided to users.  The Research Computing group at the University of Colorado (CURC) Boulder maintains a large-scale computing cluster with several hundred active users, among other services, and has done so since 2011.  The user support group at CURC provides a variety of services intended to support these users. This paper describes those services the CURC group provides, as well as explores the various ways that these services have been improved in 2018-19.  The impact on users is also assessed.

Emerging Centers Track (third Wednesdays, 12pm ET)

Tips and Tricks for Engaging with Researchers

Wednesday, October 16th 12pm ET/ 11am CT/ 10am MT/ 9a PT

Overview: All of our centers rely on relations with faculty to bring in new opportunities, demonstrate outcomes, and advocate for investments. This call will be a round robin on engaging faculty partners, bringing them in to grant proposal work, identifying use cases, and most importantly keeping them happy! Jane and Rich will discuss strategies in use at their own centers. We are also seeking panelists to discuss their strategies for engaging faculty members in center initiatives.

Systems-Facing Track (third Thursdays, 1pm ET)

HTCondor’s Philosophy of High-Throughput Computing – Greg Thain, UW-Madison 

Thursday, October 17th 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10a PT

Overview: Greg will provide an overview of HTCondor’s core principles and major features for running as much computational work as possible, on as many computing resources as possible. Comparison with other compute scheduling modes will be made, and call participants experienced with HTCondor will be invited to share their perspectives during Q&A.

All calls will take place within the below Zoom room:

Zoom Meeting Room: https://zoom.us/j/3816547290

One tap mobile: +16699006833,,3816547290# US (San Jose); +16465588656,,3816547290# US (New York)

Dial by your location: +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose); +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

Meeting ID: 381 654 7290

Interested members of the People Network need not subscribe to a particular track to participate in calls. Additional details for track members, including notes documents and any pre-call activities, will be distributed ahead of the call via the email lists and other communication channels within each track.

The CaRCC (Campus Research Computing Consortium) People Network, aims “to foster, build and grow an inclusive community (termed the “People Network”) for campus CI, research computing and data professionals.” If you have received this email NOT via CaRCC’s People Network, and you would like to join the People Network, which includes Data-facing, Researcher-facing, Systems-facing, and other tracks, please fill in the form at http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *