Loading Events

Past Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

February 2021

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Feb 2021

February 11 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Feb 11, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Title: Supporting Researchers with Containers Presenter(s): Eric Coulter Jeremy Fischer Anna Sackmann Peter Vaillancourt Description: Software containers are a growing part of the general computing landscape, including research computing. But when are containers a good fit for researchers and how can you support researchers using containers? In this call, we’ll provide a brief overview of containers, when they’re useful, how they relate to reproducibility,…

Find out more »

Emerging-Centers Track Call, February 2021

February 17 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EST

Wednesday, Feb 17, 12p ET/ 11a CT/ 10a MT/ 9a PT The Emerging Centers call for February has been canceled and we are working with the panelist to find an alternative date.  We will follow up with updates soon!   An Emerging Centers community call to highlight different institution’s experiences in supporting, promoting, and advancing RCD Panelists:  Jason Wells, Bentley University;  Doug Jennewein, University of South Dakota and Arizona State University; Lauren Michael, University of Wisconsin-Madison Susan Ivey, Research Data…

Find out more »

Systems-Facing Track Call, February 18th 2021

February 18 @ 1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EST

Systems-Facing Track, Thursday February 18th, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Title: Geddes Composable Platform - Purdue’s Kubernetes-based private cloud solution. Presenter(s): Erik Gough - Purdue & Brian Werts - Purdue Description: New usage patterns of computing for research have emerged that rely on the availability of flexible, elastic, and highly specialized services that may not be well suited to traditional batch HPC. Purdue's Research Computing department is working to enhance and evolve the research…

Find out more »

March 2021

Data-Facing Track Call

March 2 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Data-Facing Track First Tuesday of every month 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Track Info: https://carcc.org/people-network/data-facing-track/ Title: PLENARY: Using Data to Benchmark your Research Computing and Data Program: The RCD Capabilities Model and Community Dataset Presenter(s): Claire Mizumoto, UC San Diego & Patrick Schmitz, Semper Cognito Consulting Description: Join us during the regular data-facing slot for the first (and hopefully not last) People Network plenary session! Claire Mizumoto and Patrick Schmitz from the Capabilities Model working…

Find out more »

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Mar 2021

March 11 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Mar 11, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Title: All About Orienting Researchers to Research Computing + Data Resources Presenter(s): Kate Hertweck - Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Patrick Clemins - University of Vermont Scott Delinger - University of Alberta Asya Shklyar - Pomona College Paul Weakliem - UC Santa Barbara Description: This month, we’re exploring the many angles and approaches our community takes to orienting researchers to research computing and data…

Find out more »

Emerging-Centers Track Call – March 2021

March 17 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EDT

Wednesday, March 17, 12p ET/ 11a CT/ 10a MT/ 9a PT An Emerging Centers community call to highlight different institution’s experiences in supporting, promoting, and advancing RCD Panelists:  Jason Wells, Bentley University;  Doug Jennewein, University of South Dakota and Arizona State University; Lauren Michael, University of Wisconsin-Madison Susan Ivey, Research Data & Infrastructure Librarian, NC State University Libraries, leads a panel of Emerging Centers ‘Experts’ who will share their experiences and lessons learned which may be applicable to the development…

Find out more »

Systems-Facing Track Call, March 18th 2021

March 18 @ 1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EDT

Systems-Facing Track, Thursday March 18th, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Title: Enabling Science Collaborations with Secure and Flexible Service Deployment Presenter(s): Rob Gardner - Univ of Chicago, OSG, SLATE Description: Modern research requires collaboration across institutions, facilities and scientific domains. SLATE helps build multi-institution cyberinfrastructure using secure and declarative deployment tools which leverage Kubernetes. SLATE also enables a federated operations model that gives cyberinfrastructure developers and operators the flexibility to innovate at scale, expanding…

Find out more »

CASC Spring Membership Meeting

March 31 @ 12:00 pm EDT

The Spring and Fall Meetings are generally held in the Washington, DC vicinity, and allow for ample opportunities to hear from Federal Funding Agencies, as well as from Congress. CASC Meetings are open to CASC Member Institutions and invited guests only. With COVID-19, this upcoming meeting will be virtual.

Find out more »

April 2021

Data-Facing Track Call

April 6 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Data-Facing Track First Tuesday of every month 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Track Info: https://carcc.org/people-network/data-facing-track/ Title: Digital Scholarship Platforms and Workflows - HathiTrust Research Center and Model of Models (UC) Presenter(s): Eleanor Koehl (HathiTrust) Erin McCabe (University of Cincinnati) Description: HathiTrust is the largest non-profit digital library in the world, and roughly 2/3 of the collection is not available for human reading. This presentation will discuss how the HathiTrust Research Center leverages compute resources at…

Find out more »

CASC Spring 2021

April 7 - April 9

The CASC Spring membership meeting...

Find out more »
+ Export Events