Loading Events

Past Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

January 2021

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Jan 2021

January 14 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Jan 14, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Title: All About CaRCC (... beyond the R-F Track) Presenter(s): Tom Cheatham, University of Utah Lauren Michael, University of Wisconsin Dana Brunson, Internet2Patrick Schmitz, Semper Cogito Consulting Description: The Researcher-Facing Track would like to take the opportunity to start 2021 by pausing, reflecting, and asking "Who are we?" CaRCC has grown and evolved over the past two to three years -- the People Network…

Find out more »

CI Engineering Lunch and Learn Talk: EPOC Support of the NSF CC* Program

January 15 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm EST

Speaker: Jen Schopf, IU International Networks/EPOC The NSF Campus Cyberinfrastructure (CC*) program recently released its FY21 solicitation (https://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2021/nsf21528/nsf21528.pdf). This program invests in coordinated campus-level networking and cyberinfrastructure improvements, innovation, integration, and engineering for science applications and distributed research. The Engagement and Performance Operations Center (EPOC) can assist proposers by helping to review data architecture plans, ensure the science drivers are well supported, and to offer advice on the required measurement and monitoring plans. This talk will give a brief overview…

Find out more »

Systems-Facing Track Call, January 21st 2021

January 21 @ 1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EST

Systems-Facing Track, Thursday January 21st, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Title:  HPC Cluster Operating Systems Options Panel Members: -Ruben Lara - PACE - Georgia Tech -Troy Baer - OSC -Adam DeConinck - NVIDIA -Karl W. Schulz - University of Texas, OpenHPC Project Lead Description:  With the recent announcement from IBM/Redhat that CentOS 8 will be EOL at the end 2021 and CentOS 7 in 2024 many HPC systems professionals now face the prospect of…

Find out more »

Emerging Centers Track Call, Jan 2021

January 27 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EST

Wednesday, January 27, 12p ET/ 11a CT/ 10a MT/ 9a PT Title: Open Science Grid (OSG) - A national, distributed computing partnership for data-intensive research - and potential partners for your CC* Campus Compute proposal Note:  We have moved back our January meeting to Wed January 27 due to the Presidential Inauguration on Jan. 20.  The session will be recorded and available for those who cannot attend. Description: The Emerging Centers Track January call will bring representatives from the Open Science…

Find out more »

February 2021

Data-Facing Track Call

February 2 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Data-Facing Track First Tuesday of every month 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Track Info: https://carcc.org/people-network/data-facing-track/ Title: Casual Tuesday Community Roundtable Presenter(s): You! Description: We want to take this month to hear a bit about what everyone is up to. This session will be a general sharing and free-form brainstorming session. We’d love to hear 3-5 minutes about projects that people are working on currently or new developments. If you’re stuck on something, feel free to…

Find out more »

Researcher-Facing Track Call, Feb 2021

February 11 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Researcher-Facing Track, Thursday Feb 11, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Title: Supporting Researchers with Containers Presenter(s): Eric Coulter Jeremy Fischer Anna Sackmann Peter Vaillancourt Description: Software containers are a growing part of the general computing landscape, including research computing. But when are containers a good fit for researchers and how can you support researchers using containers? In this call, we’ll provide a brief overview of containers, when they’re useful, how they relate to reproducibility,…

Find out more »

Emerging-Centers Track Call, February 2021

February 17 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EST

Wednesday, Feb 17, 12p ET/ 11a CT/ 10a MT/ 9a PT The Emerging Centers call for February has been canceled and we are working with the panelist to find an alternative date.  We will follow up with updates soon!   An Emerging Centers community call to highlight different institution’s experiences in supporting, promoting, and advancing RCD Panelists:  Jason Wells, Bentley University;  Doug Jennewein, University of South Dakota and Arizona State University; Lauren Michael, University of Wisconsin-Madison Susan Ivey, Research Data…

Find out more »

Systems-Facing Track Call, February 18th 2021

February 18 @ 1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EST

Systems-Facing Track, Thursday February 18th, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Title: Geddes Composable Platform - Purdue’s Kubernetes-based private cloud solution. Presenter(s): Erik Gough - Purdue & Brian Werts - Purdue Description: New usage patterns of computing for research have emerged that rely on the availability of flexible, elastic, and highly specialized services that may not be well suited to traditional batch HPC. Purdue's Research Computing department is working to enhance and evolve the research…

Find out more »

March 2021

Data-Facing Track Call

March 2 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Data-Facing Track First Tuesday of every month 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT Track Info: https://carcc.org/people-network/data-facing-track/ Title: PLENARY: Using Data to Benchmark your Research Computing and Data Program: The RCD Capabilities Model and Community Dataset Presenter(s): Claire Mizumoto, UC San Diego & Patrick Schmitz, Semper Cognito Consulting Description: Join us during the regular data-facing slot for the first (and hopefully not last) People Network plenary session! Claire Mizumoto and Patrick Schmitz from the Capabilities Model working…

Find out more »

CASC Spring Membership Meeting

March 31 @ 12:00 pm EDT

The Spring and Fall Meetings are generally held in the Washington, DC vicinity, and allow for ample opportunities to hear from Federal Funding Agencies, as well as from Congress. CASC Meetings are open to CASC Member Institutions and invited guests only. With COVID-19, this upcoming meeting will be virtual.

Find out more »
+ Export Events