Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Systems-Facing Track Call, January 21st 2021

January 21 @ 1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EST

Systems-Facing Track, Thursday January 21st, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title:  HPC Cluster Operating Systems Options

Panel Members:
-Ruben Lara – PACE – Georgia Tech
-Troy Baer – OSC
-Adam DeConinck – NVIDIA
-Karl W. Schulz – University of Texas, OpenHPC Project Lead

Description:  With the recent announcement from IBM/Redhat that CentOS 8 will be EOL at the end 2021 and CentOS 7 in 2024 many HPC systems professionals now face the prospect of having to migrate off the downstream distribution and either adopt CentOS 8 Stream or purchase licenses for RHEL. There are some institutions where clusters run other operating systems, most notably Cray has deployed SuSE as part of their Cray environment and NVIDIA DGX boxes notably run more smoothly with Ubuntu. Our January meeting we will have a panel discussion on this topic and explore experiences using/migrating to/from other distributions on their HPC resources.

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the S-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Join the CaRCC People Network: http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network

Join us also on Slack: https://join.slack.com/t/carcc/shared_invite/enQtNzUyMDcwMTAxNzQ2LWMzMmVkMWE1YjM0OGVkNWY2YTJjOTcyZmI3M2FiYzg0MGRlMjIwYWVlMmU0OTZiOWQxY2Y2YTJlYjQ3YzQ1YjU

CaRCC YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/carcc

CaRCC YouTube Channel Systems-Facing Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLV-SC0CHLTwehApeMg_fJ5VbYndETh3yT

Organizer

CaRCC