Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Systems-Facing Track Call, May 20th 2021

May 20 @ 1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EDT

Systems-Facing Track, Thursday May 20th, 2021 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title: Clusters in the Sky: How Canada is Building Beyond IaaS Cloud with Magic Castle

Presenter(s): Jeff Albert, University of Victoria / Compute Canada & Félix-Antoine Fortin, Université Laval / Compute Canada

Description: During this session, we will share the story of the evolution of Canadian IaaS research cloud services. Users need tools that help them marshal computing resources into functional platforms. The solution? Magic Castle. Magic Castle takes general purpose cloud resources and turns them into useful scientific toolkits. We will also discuss how the infrastructure and tools initiatives are evolving together in order to meet the increasingly specialized needs of researchers.

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in Zoom Bombing, please contact the S-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Join the CaRCC People Network: http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network

Join us also on Slack: https://join.slack.com/t/carcc/shared_invite/enQtNzUyMDcwMTAxNzQ2LWMzMmVkMWE1YjM0OGVkNWY2YTJjOTcyZmI3M2FiYzg0MGRlMjIwYWVlMmU0OTZiOWQxY2Y2YTJlYjQ3YzQ1YjU

CaRCC YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/carcc

CaRCC YouTube Channel Systems-Facing Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLV-SC0CHLTwehApeMg_fJ5VbYndETh3yT

Details

Date:
May 20
Time:
1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EDT
View Event Website

Organizer

CaRCC