Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Systems-Facing Track Call, May 19th, 2022

May 19 @ 1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EDT

Systems-Facing Track, Thursday May 19th, 2022 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Title: Operating a research computing environment for a large university
Presenter(s):

Deumens Erik, Senior Director, UFIT Research Computing
Jones Brennan, Systems administrator, UFIT Research Computing
Prescott Craig, Systems Architect, UFIT Research Computing
Tomeo Eric, Operations Manager, UFIT Research Computing

Description: The University of Florida (UF) has been building a research computing environment for its faculty and their students and collaborators for a decade. Starting from a very distributed environment, the university has built a research computing infrastructure to serve the needs of the community. This has advantages of scale and consistency, but because of the diversity of needs and requirements, the resulting infrastructure is also complex, albeit more manageable by a small team than the original network of distributed resources. The discussion will address some of the architectural designs and policies and procedures that have been put in place to operate the system. The goal has been to enable the research and teaching mission while maintaining security of the system, the data, and the users.

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the S-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Join the CaRCC People Network: http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network

Join us also on Slack: https://join.slack.com/t/carcc/shared_invite/enQtNzUyMDcwMTAxNzQ2LWMzMmVkMWE1YjM0OGVkNWY2YTJjOTcyZmI3M2FiYzg0MGRlMjIwYWVlMmU0OTZiOWQxY2Y2YTJlYjQ3YzQ1YjU

CaRCC YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/carcc

CaRCC YouTube Channel Systems-Facing Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLV-SC0CHLTwehApeMg_fJ5VbYndETh3yT

Details

Date:
May 19
Time:
1:00 pm - 1:50 pm EDT
Website:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1EkjZ64IYu5hq0v8CZJ4yT_YvCZBqTigv?usp=sharing

Organizer

CaRCC