Loading Events

« All Events

Systems-Facing Track Call, February 16th, 2023

February 16 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Systems-Facing Track, Thursday February 16th, 2023 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Topic: Towards a Data Commons​ at Harvard (Joint call with Data-Facing Track)

Discussion lead by: 

    • Mahmood Shad, Associate Director of RSE | University Research Computing | Harvard University
    • Emre Keskin, Harvard University Research Data Officer

Description: For over two years, a collaborative team from divisions and schools across Harvard University has been pursuing the idea of a “Digital Scholarship Ecosystem” to support the lifecycle of research at Harvard. The Harvard Data Commons (HDC) vision is to improve the researcher experience by automating the flow of research data from research computing environments to management, publication, discovery, and preservation environments. As a result, data integrity, provenance, and reproducibility of research data will be improved in order to meet sponsor requirements. 

In building this ecosystem we aim to address following challenges faced by researchers: managing the organization of and access to data throughout the research lifecycle, facilitating the reproducibility of data, facilitating the sharing of active research data across groups within Harvard and with peers at other institutions, minimizing the risk of falling out of compliance with data policies (e.g., federal, grant sponsors, and institutional). Furthermore, we aim to work towards reducing duplication in the procurement of datasets, which results in high costs to Harvard’s overall research portfolio and reduces potential collaboration. We also see practical outcomes that a data commons will help us achieve, primarily in improving research data management, access, and discovery of Harvard research, and research collaboration, sharing, and dissemination. In this talk, we will present HDC’s progress toward its three objectives and our vision for the future.

Join the CaRCC People Network: http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network

Join us also on Slack: https://join.slack.com/t/carcc/shared_invite/enQtNzUyMDcwMTAxNzQ2LWMzMmVkMWE1YjM0OGVkNWY2YTJjOTcyZmI3M2FiYzg0MGRlMjIwYWVlMmU0OTZiOWQxY2Y2YTJlYjQ3YzQ1YjU

CaRCC YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/carcc

CaRCC YouTube Channel Systems-Facing Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLV-SC0CHLTwehApeMg_fJ5VbYndETh3yT

Details

Date:
February 16
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST
Event Category: