Loading Events

« All Events

Systems-Facing Track Call

April 16 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Title: Direct to the chip warm water cooling HPC systems at OSC

Description: OSC has deployed a direct to the chip warm water cooling system as the primary means of cooling the Pitzer cluster, our latest High Performance Computing (HPC) system. Large scale HPC systems are power and cooling intensive, and the high density of the physical packaging of the systems stress data center design in several dimensions.  A large fraction of the overall power for operating the system goes to cooling the system.  Warm water cooling is an approach to support higher physical densities of systems and reduce the amount of power required to cool the systems.  This talk will review power and cooling basics, and present our experiences operating the Pitzer cluster for the last 15 months.

Topic Lead: Douglas Johnson (OSC)

Thursday, April 16th @ 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10a PT
Call Coordinates (Zoom)
Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/3816547290
iPhone one-tap (US Toll): +14086380968,3816547290# or +16465588656,3816547290#
Telephone: +1 408 638 0968 (US Toll) or +1 646 558 8656 (US Toll)
Meeting ID: 381 654 7290

Join the CaRCC People Network: http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network

Join us also on Slack: https://join.slack.com/t/carcc/shared_invite/enQtNzUyMDcwMTAxNzQ2LWMzMmVkMWE1YjM0OGVkNWY2YTJjOTcyZmI3M2FiYzg0MGRlMjIwYWVlMmU0OTZiOWQxY2Y2YTJlYjQ3YzQ1YjU

Details

Date:
April 16
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Website:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1EkjZ64IYu5hq0v8CZJ4yT_YvCZBqTigv?usp=sharing