Loading Events

« All Events

Systems-Facing Track Call

July 16 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Thursday, July 16th @ 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10a PT

Topic: OURRstore: Big Data on a Small Budget, discussion facilitated by Henry Neeman, Patrick Calhoun

Description:  The data tsunami is upon us: transformative research is increasingly data-intensive, with collections in TB to PB, and Exabytes (EB) coming soon. Projections of research storage growth show that, by 2025, research data will outstrip even YouTube. Yet many institutions are under prepared not only for the “volume, velocity and variety” of data, but especially for stewardship of exponentially growing collections. The University of Oklahoma (OU) has been awarded a National Science Foundation grant that has acquired, and will deploy and maintain, for 8+ years, a large scale storage resource — the OU & Regional Research Store (OURRstore) — to enable faculty, staff, postdocs, graduate students and undergraduates to pursue data-intensive research, by building large and growing data collections, to share these datasets with collaborators and even the public, and to provide this capability to all institutions in (a) the Great Plains Network and (b) Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) jurisdictions. Via an innovative, low cost business model, researchers will buy their own tape cartridges, good for 8+ years, and pay zero usage charges (just cartridge and shipping costs). OURRstore is expected to have hundreds of users.

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the S-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Join the CaRCC People Network: http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network

Join us also on Slack: https://join.slack.com/t/carcc/shared_invite/enQtNzUyMDcwMTAxNzQ2LWMzMmVkMWE1YjM0OGVkNWY2YTJjOTcyZmI3M2FiYzg0MGRlMjIwYWVlMmU0OTZiOWQxY2Y2YTJlYjQ3YzQ1YjU

Details

Date:
July 16
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT
Website:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1EkjZ64IYu5hq0v8CZJ4yT_YvCZBqTigv?usp=sharing