Loading Events

« All Events

Multi-Track Call (hosted by Systems-Facing)

August 20 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm EDT

Title: Service Models for Researcher-Purchased Computing and Data

Thursday, August 20th @ 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10a PT (90 Minute Call)

Call Coordinates (Zoom):
Due to the recent trend in ZoomBombing, please contact the S-F Track Chairs for the Zoom call information, and please include your name and affiliation.

Description: The term “condo” is an umbrella term for an increasingly common family of service models for research computing and data storage in higher education. However, the way this design pattern manifests can vary greatly from one institution to another, and there’s no single answer for the right way to implement computing and data capacity for-purchase. The purpose of this call will be to discuss approaches to researcher-purchased capacity from a variety of perspectives, including systems professionals, support and facilitation professionals, researchers, and other stakeholders. Discussion areas will include ownership models, funding and purchase strategies, user experience/policy considerations, hosting and operational support, etc. Discussion will consist of a panel format with a series of short site introductions by representatives of diverse service models, followed by a longer Q&A. To accommodate the multiple perspectives and facets, this call will be 90 minutes long.

Join the CaRCC People Network: http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network

Join us also on Slack: https://join.slack.com/t/carcc/shared_invite/enQtNzUyMDcwMTAxNzQ2LWMzMmVkMWE1YjM0OGVkNWY2YTJjOTcyZmI3M2FiYzg0MGRlMjIwYWVlMmU0OTZiOWQxY2Y2YTJlYjQ3YzQ1YjU

Details

Date:
August 20
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm EDT
Website:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1EkjZ64IYu5hq0v8CZJ4yT_YvCZBqTigv?usp=sharing