Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

systems-facing April 2019

April 18, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Quick reminder for this month’s Systems Facing Track call for, Michael Jennings (Los Alamos National Laboratory), will be presenting on : “Charliecloud ~ Unprivileged Containers for User-Defined Software Stacks” tomorrow,
Thursday, April 18th, 1p ET/12p CT/11a MT/10a PT

Charliecloud provides user-defined software stacks (UDSS) for high-performance computing (HPC) centers. This “bring your own software stack” functionality addresses needs such as:

* software dependencies that are numerous, complex, unusual, differently configured, or simply newer/older than what the center provides;
* build-time requirements unavailable within the center, such as relatively unfettered internet access;
* validated software stacks and configuration to meet the standards of a particular field of inquiry;
* portability of environments between resources, including workstations and other test and development system not managed by the center;
* consistent environments, even archivally so, that can be easily, reliably, and verifiably reproduced in the future; and/or
* usability and comprehensibility.
* https://hpc.github.io/charliecloud

The call will take place within the below Zoom room:
Zoom Meeting Room: https://zoom.us/j/3816547290

One tap mobile: +16699006833,,3816547290# US (San Jose); +16465588656,,3816547290# US (New York)
Dial by your location: +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose); +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)
Meeting ID: 381 654 7290

Agenda/Notes:
<https://docs.google.com/document/d/1iYlWnPJ0S2yJ3mfJH7nGlYBP5vTK8MeXoF3xdy7t1H0/edit?usp=sharing>

Details

Date:
April 18, 2019
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Leave a Reply