Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Plenary Session (hosted by Emerging-Centers Track) – August 2021

August 18 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm EDT

Plenary: Aligning Security with Research, an Information Security Panel Discussion

Wednesday, August 18th, 12p ET/ 11a CT/ 10a MT/ 9a PT/ 7a HT

This August the CaRCC People Network Tracks will join forces for a focused conversation on information security as it relates to research data management. This plenary discussion will bring together experts in security to address the critical needs of research cyberinfrastructure. We must find better approaches to partnering, supporting, and delivering cybersecurity to the research community at our institutions. It is crucial that we align our resources and policies to the research mission. Our panelists will address security controls and standards, best practices and lessons learned, which will be followed by questions from our attendees. Please join us for this important discussion.

Panelists:

  • Sol Bermann – University of Michigan, Executive Director of Information Assurance and Chief Information Security Officer
  • Katrina Biscay – University Of Cincinnati, Asst Vice President Information Security, CISO
  • Tom Siu – Michigan State University, CISO
  • Von Welch – associate vice president for Information Security and executive director for Cybersecurity Innovation at Indiana University, executive director for the OmniSOC, and the director of IU’s Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research (CACR).

Send questions or comments to the track-coordinators@carcc.org

Call Coordinates (Zoom):  Coordinates will be emailed before the call.

Join the CaRCC People Network: http://bit.ly/join_carcc_people_network

Details

Date:
August 18
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm EDT

Organizer

CaRCC