Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Data-facing Track Call

April 5 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Data-Facing Track

Tuesday, April 5, 2022  1p ET/ 12p CT/ 11a MT/ 10a PT

Title: Curating, Archiving, and Sharing Qualitative Data

Presenter: discussion facilitated by Sebastian Karcher, Associate Director of the Qualitative Data Repository and Research Assistant Professor of Political Science at Syracuse University.

Description: Archiving and sharing qualitative data, such as interview recordings,  transcripts, and archival documents, is becoming increasingly common. But publishing qualitative data poses a particular set of ethical, epistemological, and logistical challenges. This webinar provides a look “under the hood” of curation and archiving practices at the Qualitative Data Repository (QDR), a domain repository dedicated to the curation and sharing of data from qualitative and multi-method research. Sebastian Karcher, who oversees data curation at QDR, discusses challenges and processes in archiving qualitative data by walking through QDR’s curation processes step-by-step, addressing technical and sociological aspects. Topics covered include ethics and disclosure-risk review, communicating with depositors, tracking curation processes, handling data formats used in qualitative research, and thinking about controlled access for qualitative data.

First Tuesday of every month
1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HT

Track Info: https://carcc.org/people-network/data-facing-track/

Zoom details sent via email to the People Network.  Join here: https://carcc.org/people-network/

Details

Date:
April 5
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT
Event Category: