Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

CloudBank

May 27 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Please mark your calendars for a special session with Cloudbank for the Campus Champions and CaRCC People Network:

Title: CloudBank: Managed Services to Simplify Cloud Access for Computer Science Research and Education

Speakers: Mike Norman, SDSC Director and PI of CloudBank; Shava Smallen, SDSC Research Programmer and Co-PI of CloudBank

Wednesday May 27, 2020
Time: 1pm ET / 12pm CT / 11am MT / 10am PT

Zoom Meeting:

* https://internet2.zoom.us/j/99233127311?pwd=bFEwUGpSNjZKclR6eXVYZG1wY3VtQT09<https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/internet2.zoom.us/j/99233127311?pwd=bFEwUGpSNjZKclR6eXVYZG1wY3VtQT09__;!!Mih3wA!QxWRR8kKBtxOqx9Hh_WZgjbXAOoLPd14Sxv7QaJmNI7-S4o68ryPwtHwo7uFKxw$>
* Meeting ID: 992 3312 7311
* Password: 369787

Notes doc<https://docs.google.com/document/d/1a43OjpUYS2Nra81ld-v1NxYB5F_IZSsRHZGnjnZracw/edit>

Title: CloudBank: Managed Services to Simplify Cloud Access for Computer Science Research and Education

Speakers: Mike Norman, SDSC Director and PI of CloudBank; Shava Smallen, SDSC Research Programmer and Co-PI of CloudBank
Abstract: This talk will give an overview of the CloudBank project, the scope of NSF programs it will serve, and a brief demo of some of the key features of the CloudBank user portal. Time will be allotted for discussion, with input especially appreciated around ways to effectively engage with the research community. When it enters production in August 2020, CloudBank will serve as an integrated service provider to the computer science research and education community through a set of user-facing and business operations functions. These services will include cloud solution consulting and training, assistance in preparing proposals that include cloud resources, and frontline user support. CloudBank will reduce the pain points of researcher cloud adoption, such as: making sense of the myriad cloud offerings and associated costs, how to estimate these costs, establishing and enforcing spending limits, monitoring and managing costs, and granting permissions to research group members and students. CloudBank will support multiple cloud vendors, and be accessed via intuitive, easy-to-use user portal that gives users a single point of entry to these functions. Cloudbank is a collaboration of the University of California, San Diego’s San Diego Supercomputer Center and Information Technology Services Division, the University of Washington’s eScience Institute, and the University of California, Berkeley’s Division of Data Science. It is funded by a 5-year NSF Cooperative Agreement (Award #1925001). https://www.cloudbank.org

Details

Date:
May 27
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm