2018-2019 Committees

Current CaRCC Working Groups (September 2018; updated December 2018)

CaRCC-people-network – “Building Community: the People Network”: The sustaining group aims to foster, build and grow an inclusive community (termed the “People Network”) for campus CI, research computing and data professionals. This includes synchronous and asynchronous opportunities to leverage collective and individual expertise, with focused discussion tracks reflective of professional activities, including researcher-facing, systems-facing, software/data-facing, and stakeholder/sponsor-facing.

Current co-chairs: Dana Brunson, Lauren Michael.

CaRCC-CI-professionalization – “CI Professionalization”: This sustaining group will further develop and disseminate frameworks and approaches to guide conversations between Human Resources leaders and research computing and data leaders around attracting, retaining, diversifying, and developing cyberinfrastructure and research computing and data talent. This includes boosting awareness of the value of a CI career. An initial draft of a “Research Computing and Data Professionals Job Elements and Career Guide” was developed by this group and people involved in a January 2018 CI Professionalization workshop.

Current co-chairs: Patrick Schmitz, Scott Yockel.

CaRCC-value-proposition – “Stakeholders and Value Proposition”: This working group made the original the stakeholders and value proposition document more broad and generic (i.e. less CaRCC focused). The new draft is here and we welcome feedback (either to the chairs or help@carcc.org). A goal of the working group is to establish a platform to support this as an interactive document. Additional short term goals are to prioritize among stakeholder groups for outreach and validation of the value propositions followed by field tests by CaRCC members on our respective campuses.

Current co-chairs: Andy Sherman, Barr von Oehsen.

CaRCC-logistics – “Logistics, Communications, and Common Infrastructure for CaRCC: Tools, Platforms, Processes, and Roles”.  This new “working group” aims to define the internal working structure, logistics and communications strategy for CaRCC. Initial aims are to evaluate and select tools, platforms and processes to facilitate CaRCC activities. These activities include enabling elections, communications, dissemination of CaRCC results as living and evolvable documents, overseeing working groups and timelines, membership considerations, meeting logistics, and defining committee structures and roles.

Current co-chairs: Dana Brunson, Gail Krovitz, Lauren Michael.

CaRCC-future-of-research-computing-data – “What is the future of research computing and data?”. This new “working group” aims to define a vision and roadmap of expectations for where research computing and data is heading across levels from campuses, to regions, and the nation. Across all levels of compute and data we are witnessing continuous and–if not appropriately planned for — non-sustainable growth in demand for services, both in terms of physical resources and trained people/expertise. We as a community need to have clear plans and vision which can be shared with the larger community to increase awareness and to highlight risk, reward, implications, and challenges.

Current co-chairs: Jackie Milhans, Gwen Jacobs.

CaRCC-ecosystem-workshop-planning – “Planning a workshop to bring communities together to map out and define the ecosystem of research computing and data”: The aim of this “working group” is to plan the logistics, agenda, and outcomes from a workshop that brings various research computing communities together– including CaRCC, Campus Champions, CI Engineers, CASC, among others– to better understand the vision and plans of the different communities, their synergies and overlaps, and to foster better communication, collaboration, and coordination. The intent is to help socialize and ultimately sustain the larger CI and research computing and data ecosystem. Note: As of January 2019, this working group is full and not accepting new members.

Current co-chairs: Dana Brunson, Gail Krovitz, and Jim Wilgenbusch